Back in the Groove

It’s been a while since I went hiking with my retired friends.  First there were the body malfunctions, then the weather, then travel, etc.  But, Tuesday I was finally able to organize a long over due hike to Read Mountain Preserve.

It’s funny when you have been on a hike before and you only remember the good parts (I believe it’s called selective memory).  Sometimes things get lost in the details. Like what I thought I remembered as an easy 4 mile round trip, was in reality closer to six miles and more on the moderate level.  But we had a great time, great view and just general pleasure of being back out in the woods together.

 

011010008005

When my knees are screaming and my hips are aching, I just look at these happy faces and remember why it’s all worth it.

004

We hike for the pure joy of it.

10 thoughts on “Back in the Groove

Leave a Reply

