This is Winter??

Last week I finished physical therapy. That’s the good news.  The not so great news is that I’m not ready for a big hike.  Even though I am faithfully continuing my daily exercises for my hip, back and knee, my body is still in the healing process.  Progress is being made, I’ve been able to go for 2-3 mile walks, as long as I do it on flat ground. I’m back in my fitness class, albeit not quite at full strength.  This would not bother me so much if it weren’t for the fact that we have been having such warm temperatures and the mountains are calling me.

This past weekend, my husband and I decided to explore the top of a mountain that we have hiked in the past.

dscn4738

You can drive to the top, so we planned to walk along the ridge and see what was there. There was a bit of an incline and it felt so natural to be back on a trail again. We probably walked just over a half a mile.  Unfortunately, after we got home, my hip let me know I’m not quite ready for uphill.

So bring on some winter weather and give me a reason to be indoors, because I have big hiking plans in my future and I want to be ready!

10 thoughts on “This is Winter??

  1. Oh dear, we are in the same boat!I hurt my back and am only able to pathetic small walks ! However, I know from previous mishaps that I will be back in the saddle again…that is, in my hiking boots again in a couple of weeks! We hikers are made of strong stuff and an excellent pair of shock absorbing hiking boots! Good luck and wishes for good health xo Johanna

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better and raring to go. Those are all good signs. I remember when I first returned to exercise after major foot surgery. I tired more easily and my foot would swell. But, before I knew it, I was fully myself again. You’ll get there soon, winter or no. (I do hope you get some of the pretty white stuff though).

    Like

  3. Here I am! 2 weeks later and visiting WP!
    And since it’s been 2 weeks, I know you are heading out to walk the NRT this week. Hope it’s a great day to be outside and that you feel good when you get home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

