Seven states, 1750 miles, weather varieties

Just back from a winter getaway to the Gulf Shore.  To say we experienced a variety of weather is an understatement.  Our first 2 days in Alabama brought sunshine and upper 60 degree temps.  It was wonderful, people were playing beach volley ball, my husband got fully submerged in the gulf, we took beach walks and enjoyed nature.

dscn4657

012

That little dot in the center is my husband’s head sticking out of the water.

dscn4688

 

dscn4701

Then came the storm.  For Alabama, that meant heavy rains, near freezing temps and wind – lots of wind!

There’s really not much to do at the beach when the wind is blowing and the rain is everywhere, so we spent our last afternoon at the Gulf Shore in our room watching the weather channel and wondering if we would be able to get to Atlanta the next day.  I appreciate the job weather people have and how excited they get when there is a big front coming in, but they do tend to over hype most of the time.  As we were trying to come up with a plan B – Atlanta got a little ice which was completely melted by the time we rolled in to town the day after the storm.

However, it was 15 degrees with chilling winds – so we did not venture far that first night.

dscn4734

The next morning, the sun was shining bright and it actually warmed to a balmy 34 degrees (still plenty windy).  We spent most of the afternoon at Stone Mountain.  Having hiked Stone Mountain, NC – we had to see what Stone Mountain, GA was like. To our surprise, there was a carving of Confederate heroes.  Seriously?  Who does that?  I cannot imagine the time, energy, and skill that went into this carving!  It was impressive.

dscn4725

This stone mountain looked completely out of place in a rather flat part of Georgia – we didn’t think it was real at first.  (Stone Mountain, NC is actually in a mountain range.)  There is a whole village there with fun activities for the entire family.  I don’t want to know what it is like in the summer as crowded as it was on this chilly Sunday.  It’s definitely worth the $15 admission.  Although, it did bother me just a little to learn that this park is privately owned.  It is owned by the same folks who own Dollywood.

We also managed to find a couple of German restaurants in Atalanta.  The first one had a flag from the town where my husband’s grandfather was born and where his brother lives.

dscn4717

dscn4719

The second one was downtown Atlanta and had been recommended by my daughter.  It was fun getting dressed up in a drindl.

031

Anyway, we will go back to Atlanta when the weather is more agreeable, it was a fun city.

Driving home, we didn’t see snow until we were well into South Carolina, the accumulation was highest in North Carolina, but we did have a decent covering in our backyard in Virginia.

001

Even though it was a great trip, I am happy to be back in my own bed and ready to get this new year started.  Here’s to 2017!!  I hope it will be a good year for all of you!

8 thoughts on “Seven states, 1750 miles, weather varieties

  1. The snow (not to mention the size) of your back yard is impressive. Our lots are so tiny out here where land is at a ridiculous premium. I could gaze at that all day.

    You were brave to venture out in such cold and windy weather. I find wind particularly challenging. Good for you for making it work. I’m smiling at the image of the two of you watching the weather channel. Everything is “an event”, have you noticed?

    Welcome home!

    Like

      1. I loved the snow as a child in Ontario, Canada, but we left when I was six so I never had to drive in it, shovel it, or otherwise deal with the inconvenience. We loved making snow angels, sledding on a nearby hill and pretending to skate in our rubber boots. I’m quite spoiled living in California. We had a power outage for several hours one night (at home) and my son’s school had a power outage last night at the end of an event (he was volunteering). Two of the trails I hike are washed out, but honestly, for all the damage, I’ve personally been fortunate.

        Like

  2. Glad to hear that. I loved snow as a kid too, but the older I get, the less I enjoy it. It’s pretty as it falls, and then the first night is usually so calm and beautiful. But where we live, they are not prepared to deal with it (I grew up in Iowa) so everyone freaks out, they don’t know how to drive and schools are closed until it melts. I have become a 3 season lover, willing to skip winter. 🙂

    Like

  3. Karen, how absolutely cool that there was a sign from Jurgen’s grandfather’s hometown. He must have loved that!
    So glad you had such a great trip with the weather providing a bit of adventure.
    In terms of Stone Mountain: geologically, it is the same formation as Devil’s Tower in Wyoming. I’ve always joked, although it isn’t funny, that out west it is a sacred Native American site. Back East, it is a privately owned structure with a restaurant on top.
    Even still, I was glad to experience it.

    Like

    1. Didn’t know about the restaurant on top, though it doesn’t surprise me. I really want to go back when the trail is open so we can hike up. But, I don’t want to be there when the crowds descend, it will probably be like Disney World.

      Like

Leave a Reply

