Let the Sun Shine!

As I picked up my friends this morning (in the heavy fog that has become a standard morning fare) to head down the highway for a hike, I had this feeling that it was going to be a beautiful day!  I woke up with excessive energy and anticipation of returning to my favorite park – Hungry Mother.  In fact, I showed up early to all three pick up points, and ended up having to wait a little bit at each spot.  But once we headed down the road, my enthusiasm had spread to the others.

And indeed, it was a beautiful day by the time we arrived at our destination.

005

The trails at the park are so well maintained, it is always a joy to hike here.  I did startle my friends a couple of times – once when a little snake crossed my path.  That paved the way for my jumpiness, which came out when I heard and saw something tumble in the brush, causing me to scream and leap into the person in front of me.

But it was all worth the effort when we arrived at the view:

008

009

012

010

Today is Yom Kipur – a day of Atonement.  We discussed this holiday as we sat looking at this view.  My Jewish friend could not elaborate much on the holiday, so I came home and looked it up.  Quite interesting.  And what a beautiful setting for the discussion.  Fortunately, my friend did not participate in the traditional fasting, so we enjoyed a delightful lunch at the Wooden Pickle in downtown Marion before heading home.

7 thoughts on “Let the Sun Shine!

  1. Karen, as you know, I love Hungry Mother, and your photos are really great.
    Wish I could have been with you all but I’m looking forward to the 22nd!

    Like

Leave a Reply

