The Wedding – Part I

The Rehearsal Dinner

Natty Greene’s Pub  3rd floor Loft, was the perfect venue for the rehearsal dinner for Lori and Doug.  We have been there many times but never had such an emotional evening as this night.

The dinner was for the wedding party and close family members who had made the trip a day early.  My sister and brother-in-law arrived just before the event started and my brother – who suffered many plane delays despite leaving Des Moines very early in the morning, arrived just before dinner.  My husband, whose family all live in Germany, had one representative, his nephew, who came from Berlin and had already been with us for a couple of weeks.

GanzViele 011

That’s me with my German nephew, my sister, her husband, and the bride to be

GanzViele 031

and my brother.

The emotional part of the evening came when the bridal party was invited into the conference room for gifts.  My daughter gave me the most incredible gift.

When my mother passed away she gave me her pearl ring, a gift from my father that she wore all the time.  I never wore the ring, but I had it cleaned and gave it to my daughter when she was in college.  She loved it and wore it everywhere.  There were little pearls surrounding a larger pearl.  One of the little pearls fell out of its setting and she was unable to find it.  She thought someday she might have to redo the whole ring because it was impossible to find an exact match.

For my gift, she had the original pearls made into earrings.

_MG_3157-3

She then had the ring restored with all new pearls.  She planned to wear it for the first time on her wedding day.

As if that wasn’t enough to bring on the tears, the card had a quote from our beloved Gilmore Girls (which we watched over and over and over).  The quote is from Rory’s high school graduation speech:

“My mother never gave me any idea that I couldn’t do whatever I wanted to do or be whomever I wanted to be. . . I don’t know if she ever realized that the person I most wanted to be was her. Thank you, Mom. You are my guidepost for everything.”

For my husband, she painted a replica of their campsite.  For the last several years they have taken a Father/Daughter camping/hiking trip near Mt. Rogers, VA.  They stay at Graceland Highlands and try to get the same campsite each time – lucky number #89.002

Oh yes, dad had a tear or two.

Even the groom got a little teary eyed listening to his father’s speech.

GanzViele 029

Oh well, at least we got the crying phase out of the way before the wedding.

5 thoughts on “The Wedding – Part I

  1. So glad you shared the evening through a blog post. What a fun, emotional, and special evening. Lori is such a thoughtful young woman and I loved hearing all her friends speak so well of her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

