Here Comes the Sun. . .

And with it a wonderful weekend outdoors!

I’m a hiker, a power walker, a leisure walker – but never a runner.  This is mostly due to my knees, but also because running never brought me joy.  So whenever I enter a 5K – which I do at least once a year, I’m mostly going to be walking.  Hubby talked me into doing a fundraiser this past weekend. It was for a free clinic and his students had asked him to participate.  Saturday was beautiful, and we enjoyed the walk, finishing somewhere in the middle.  But the best part was that we did it together, and when we got to the end, we aligned ourselves to cross the finish line together.

image001 (1)

Sunday was equally beautiful weather, and surprisingly we were both up for a hike.  A friend told me about a waterfall nearby that was supposed to be an easy hike – 3 miles round trip and the only thing was you had to cross a creek a couple of times. Since it was close and we had talked about going there in the past, we decided to give it a try.

First of all, the hike might have only been 3 miles, but it was at least another mile walking on a gravel road to get to the trail – so there’s 5 miles.  The first stream crossing was pretty easy.  The second one gave me pause.  But the third one had me standing on a rock for quite a while as hubby encouraged me across.  Considering how challenging it was, I felt lucky that only one foot got wet.

But as usual – once we got to the waterfall, it was all forgotten and we just enjoyed the beauty that seems to be so prevalent here in Southwest Virginia.

DSCN3512

DSCN3507

DSCN3506

012

Here’s hoping Mother Nature is finished fooling around and will let Spring stay a while.

5 thoughts on “Here Comes the Sun. . .

  1. Since we haven’t had a chance to talk, I’m glad to have been able to get some details. Good job on the 5K and for getting off that rock!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the suggestion of a 5k. I haven’t been running for well over a year, but I miss the excitement of race day. It wouldn’t have occurred to me to enter 5k races as a walker.

    If you don’t already, you might want to consider carrying a pole or walking stick on your trail hikes. The collapsible kind are easy to carry and offer a great deal of stability in water crossings and steep descents. I figure that an ankle injury prevented is a good thing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

